#AuthorLifeMonth – Challenge Overcome

tumblr_muq2rs0Fgc1qg4nwmo1_500

The biggest challenge I’ve overcome in my short time as a writer sounds pretty simple when I type it out here, but really it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.

I stopped being afraid. I learned to trust myself. I wrote.

When I began writing seriously again in the summer of 2014, I was so hesitant to move forward. At the end of each chapter, I was paralyzed. I felt like I couldn’t move forward until I showed it to someone and they told me they liked it. I was completely dependent on others, with no confidence to push ahead on my own.

Some of that fear lingered on with the writing of The Marshall Plan, although it gradually began to retreat. With This Dread Road, it has diminished to the existence of a phantom, only preying on me in moments of weakness or exhaustion.

I doubt I’ll every truly be free of that plague of self-doubt. But I have finally found the strength and confidence to tell that fear to knock it off. I have found the inner resilience to repeat my mantra over and over again:

“It’s just a first draft. You’re not going to have this tattooed on your face. If there are mistakes, you can fix them. And you will.”

What is a challenge you have faced and overcome, whether in writing or another area of your life? How did you do it? I want to know!

 

One thought on “#AuthorLifeMonth – Challenge Overcome

  1. I can totally relate to this. I’ve been writing forever (or so it seems), bit the one thing I was scared to death to do was publish. I was afraid that once my work was out to public eyes that it would prove to be disastrous.
    I took baby steps. I publish short stories on Amazon KDP and attempt to accomplish small goals. If it’s terrible then I can fix it later. It isn’t in print yet so the edit button is still there for now.
    Now I’ve done it with three stories and it’s been met with a lot of support, mainly from family and friends.
    So keep writing. You got this. I got this. We can both do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

