2015: A Year in Review

It’s hard to believe that 2015 has already come and gone. In just a week and a half, we’ll be bidding it adieu forever.

It’s hard to believe that this time last year, I had not yet finished The Partition of Africa. I was still hammering away at revisions, wondering if I would ever finish the dratted thing. When I hit the “publish” button on December 26, I honestly didn’t know what I was getting into.

I worried over whether I should have submitted to more publishers first, instead of choosing to self-publish. If I should have waited a little longer, gone through one more draft, tweaked one more thing.

Looking back, I do wish I’d been a bit more prepared for the whirlwind that is the self-publishing world before pushing Partition out to the masses. I didn’t realize how much hard work was ahead of me. How much more I needed to learn. How many connections I needed to make.

I also didn’t realize how many wonderful things I had in store. Wonderful write-ups in the local newspaper. A lovely reception and book signing planned and thrown on my behalf. Connecting with readers and fans in person at various events. Becoming best friends with other writers, editors, and publishers all over the country and the world, thanks to social media. Writing, revising, and editing a second book in less than ten months. Getting started on a third.

It’s been a crazy ride, but I wouldn’t trade any of it for a second. You–you right there, on the other side of this screen–are what has made all of it worthwhile. Every moment of self-doubt or crippling anxiety or exhaustion. Your kind words to me and in your reviews of my books remind me time and time again why exactly I put myself through this.

So, from the bottom of my heart: thank you, thank you, thank you. You’ll never know how much I mean it.

Here’s to an equally successful 2016.

As you might know if you follow me on social media, I’m about halfway finished with my rough draft of the third and final Bennett novel, This Dread Road, thanks to NaNoWriMo. I’m not at a point where I can promise a release date, but I’m hoping for next Christmas!

I’m also working on a few other projects, a collection of short stories, and a Christmas novella that will be released as an eBook next Thanksgiving (*fingers crossed*).

I will also be blogging more in the coming year, which will hopefully mean getting to know all of you better.

65c4ce68-0044-43ce-bb39-c8d9edea652d.gif

And with that, I leave off. May you and your family have a safe and blessed Christmas. I’ll see you in the new year!

Leave a Reply

