The Marshall Plan Dreamcast

As some of you might know, my second novel, The Marshall Plan, is scheduled to release next month! I’m so excited for everyone to read it. I know I’m a little biased, but I think you all will love the story and the characters even more than Partition.

In anticipation of the release, I’ll do what I think most authors secretly do–“cast” the movie version of The Marshall Plan. This is usually pretty difficult for me, since my characters usually have pretty unique appearances in my head, but it’s a fun exercise and I’ve been exposed to some pretty great actors this year. So, drumroll. . .

Molly Marshall

Mae Whitman

This was a hard call to make. Molly has a very distinct appearance in my mind–two, actually: the way she sees herself, and the way others see her. I considered Ginnifer Goodwin for a while, but she isn’t the right age. Plus, she’s entirely too sweet-looking to play someone as feisty and angst-ridden as my heroine.

Mae Whitman won my vote a month or so ago on a particularly emotional episode of Parenthood. Like Molly, Whitman’s character on the show, Amber, has issues with anger and parental neglect, and she does a fantastic job of portraying such a complex, volatile character. If I had to pick anyone, it would be her.

Gavin Reue

Chris-Hemsworth

This one was pretty easy. Other than green eyes, Chris Hemsworth looks exactly as I picture Gavin in my mind. At 32, he’s a few years older than the character, but I think he can pull it off. His only competition was Chris Pratt, whose acting in Jurassic World captivated my attention.

Alexis Britt

960x540-aubreyplaza

Aubrey Plaza is without a doubt my choice to play Alexis. No one can be more sarcastic and deadpan.

Leo

LOS ANGELES, CA - JANUARY 09: Actor Jon Huertas attends the 39th Annual People's Choice Awards at Nokia Theatre L.A. Live on January 9, 2013 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

Jon Huertas plays Javier Esposito, one of my favorite characters on the hit TV show Castle. He’s probably too talented to play such a minor character, but hey. I’m dreaming here.

Dex Myers

Miles Heizer

I’m borrowing a lot from Parenthood here, but Miles Heizer is one of the few young actors I know. He also does a great job of being clumsy, awkward, and bumbling on that show, so I know he could be a great Dex.

Hattie Wolcott

Emma Roberts

I’m sticking with my earlier decision to cast Emma Roberts as Hattie. She’s still the best lady for the job.

Cameron Wolcott

Colin Hanks

Colin Hanks is still my pick for Cameron. He’s not very well-known and I’ve not actually seen him in anything, but he looks exactly like my vision of Cameron, and his dad’s Tom Hanks. Surely the apple didn’t fall far from the tree.

Tobias Reue

weeknights and giada 270312

Because Stanley Tucci. Seriously though, he’s one of the best actors I know–I’ve never seen him play the same role twice. He’d make a great Toby.

Stacy Reue

Jennifer Aniston

For Stacy, a woman in her forties who still looks fabulous, it’s hard to pick anyone besides Jennifer Aniston.

Jenny Reue

Blake Lively

Blake Lively has that effervescent, sparkling summer quality I imagine Jenny having. I really can’t think of anyone else who could do the character justice.

Malcolm

James Franco

James Franco looks like he could be a sculptor and give pretentious talks on British food. I’ll put aside my negative feelings for Harry Osborn for this.

Gayle Weatherspoon

SissySpacekHSHWOFAug2011

Whomever plays Gayle would have to have a soothing, lilting voice. For me, that means Sissy Spacek. I’ve been in love with her since I listened to her narration of To Kill a Mockingbird.

Sidney Campbell

Monica Potter

I’m changing my original choice for both of the Campbells. Monica Potter is a very talented actress, and through her character Kristina on Parenthood she’s shown herself capable of being believably angry and jealous.

Samson Campbell

Patrick Dempsey

I’m not sure if it’s because of his character in Valentine’s Day, but Patrick Dempsey looks like the kind of guy who would do all the horrible things Samson does. (Sorry, Patrick. I’m sure you’re a nice guy IRL.)

Andi Jensen

Abigail Breslin

Whomever plays Andi should be young, spunky, and enthusiastic, and I think Abigail Breslin would bring that kind of energy to the role. I’d probably want her to have darker hair, but other than that, she’s perfect.

******************************************************************************

Who do you picture in some of these roles? Let me know in the comments here, or on Facebook or Twitter!

Haven’t read The Marshall Plan yet? Preorder the Kindle version now or add to your Goodreads shelves.

Would you like to help me promote The Marshall Plan on release day? Sign up for my Thunderclap campaign.

Leave a Reply

